My Application Miracle Story

imageDISCLAIMER: I tend to goof off if I’m not challenged intellectually. Hence my total lack of, er, academic drive?

Since I was 15, I’ve always known I wanted to go to law school. At 16, I decided I wanted it to be Duquesne. For the past 7 years, it’s been my dream to go to Duquesne.

I graduated with a Bachelors degree in History last year from Hogwarts (not really. Seton Hill. But, dang, it’s close enough. We have quidditch, man). I really goofed off in my undergrad, how I graduated with decent grades is beyond me. I really believe that God has always been like “fine, goof off, I’ll give you your degree JUST to get you into law school”.
I took my LSAT (once) the fall before I graduated and got engaged to my wonderful Geary. I didn’t study, took one Prep LSAT just for kicks and ended up getting a 155 on my LSAT (which is pretty mediocre, but still I was proud of for not knowing what the crap I was doing).

I took a year off to plan my wedding with my then-fiancé-now-husband and didn’t really know if I was going to go to law school this year as I wanted to spend my first year of marriage just being married.

Turns out, as much as I adore my husband and as fun as marriage is, I’m the type of person that I HAVE to be moving towards some sort of goal to really feel fulfilled. So, I applied to the law school I had decided I’ve always wanted to go to: Duquesne.
I applied with an application that I barely completed (with a recommendation letter I wasn’t sure would be very good and another recommendation letter from the Provost of Deans from my undergrad university, so it was about 50-50), with a mediocre LSAT score (I didn’t have time to wait to take another LSAT if I wanted to start this fall) in June (the deadline is March), and didn’t apply anywhere else.

I know, I know. So far, my law career seems to be off to a pretty shaky start.

However, by some literal miracle, 3 weeks later I received my acceptance letter.
Honesty alert: I cried more tears of joy and relief than I cried at my own wedding. Hehe.

So not only did I get in somehow, but a week later, I receive my financial aid award. My first full year of law school is totally covered (scholarships, grants, some government loans).

Half of a law students struggles (getting in and paying), I don’t even have to deal with now. #blessed

My goal now is to have THE highest grades so I can get a full-ride scholarship for my second and third year of law school and not have to deal with loans at all.

For God’s favorite, it isn’t that hard. #channelElle

Leave a Reply

